NCLD’s Rozelle Founders Award was created by NCLD’s Board of Directors in 2000. The award, named for NCLD’s founders, Pete and Carrie Rozelle, is presented to outstanding K-12 public and independent schools that provide effective instruction and support to all students and are successful in addressing the educational and social-emotional needs of students with learning and attention issues.

The Rozelle Founders Award is intended to highlight the importance of classroom and school-wide teaching approaches and learning activities that incorporate best evidence-based practices.

Preference is given to schools that serve underprivileged and underserved communities, and programs that have demonstrated positive impact on students with learning and attention issues.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

The ideal candidates for this award are schools or school-related programs that are committed to excellence in education for all students, including those with learning and attention issues, and have demonstrated:

  • Extraordinary learning and social/behavioral student outcomes
  • A commitment to data-based decision making and student progress monitoring
  • Demonstrated K-12 transition planning activities that facilitate student advancement and lead to a regular high school diploma
  • Ongoing staff development and opportunities for professional growth that enhance accountability and promote better student outcomes

Selection Process

Members of the NCLD Team, in consultation with members of NCLD’s Professional Advisory Board and Board of Directors, review all qualified recommendations and select the winners of this annual award. 

Winners are notified in writing at least six weeks in advance of the award presentation.

Award Presentation

The awards are given during the academic school year. Members of the larger school community are invited to participate in the award ceremony and accompanying events.

For more information about this award, please visit FAQ.

Past winners of the Rozelle Founders Award:

MS 442K – Carroll Gardens School for Innovation 
Brooklyn, NY

Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, Tennessee

PS 19Q – The Marino Jeantet School
Corona, New York

PS 200 – The Benson Elementary School
Brooklyn, New York
Eagle Hill School
Greenwich, CT

New Dorp High School
Staten Island, New York
Windward School
White Plains, New York

The High School for Excellence and Innovation
New York, New York
The Churchill School and Center
New York, New York

Public School 380 – The John Wayne Elementary School
Brooklyn, New York
The Stephen Gaynor School
New York, New York

Public School 164 – Caesar Rodney Elementary School
Brooklyn, New York
The Gateway Schools
New York, New York

Public School 48
P.O. Michael J. Buczek School
New York, New York

Public School 244
Dual Language School for International Studies
Brooklyn, New York

Public School 149
Christa McAuliffe School
Jackson Heights, New York

Public School 112
The Jose Barbosa School
New York, New York

Aragon Elementary School
Fountain, Colorado

Muskegon High School
Muskegon, Michigan

Muhlenberg Elementary School
Allentown, Pennsylvania

Edison Elementary School
New York, New York

Community Action School
New York, New York

Fannie Lou Hamer Freedom School
Bronx, New York

Meet the NCLD Team

Carrying out the NCLD mission to improve outcomes for the 1 in 5 individuals with learning and attention issues.


Young Adult Initiatives

Help empower and advocate for young adults ages 18–26 with learning disabilities and attention issues.

Join the NCLD movement